RSS

Wednesday December 29, 2010

29 Dec

 

Let’s see what’s cooking at the Tordoff Homestead.  Last night I made 3 loaves of half wheat, half unbleached white bread.  We ate one for lunch with sandwiches.

Breakfast: Oatmeal Bars

This is a quick, easy recipe and it’s great to put together on a Saturday night for a quick, healthy Sunday morning `breakfast.

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups oats
  • 2 1/2 cups milk
  • 3 eggs (or flax seed replacer when I don’t have eggs on hand)
  • 1/2 cup honey or 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 2 t cinnamon
  • 1 t salt
  • t vanilla extract (I used maple today because I was out…still yummy!)
  • 1/2  cup of goodies (raisins, chocolate chips, coconut flakes, whatever you want)

Mix it all together and put it into an ungreased 9 x 13 pan.  Bake 350 for 30 minutes or until golden brown.  We usually just cut a square for each of us and eat it.  I’ve even served it cut into a square with milk poured over it.  Keeps well so you can snack on later or have again the next day.  Hope you enjoy 🙂

BTW:  I purchase 25# of organic oatmeal a couple of times a year.  If you are interested and live close by, let me know and I’ll be sure to get you some next time I hit Atlanta.

Dinner tonight:

Venison/Vegetable Soup

I chopped up an onion and a stalk of celery; then browned it with 2 packages of ground venison.  I added 3 cans of Muir Glen’s fire roasted tomatoes and probably about a quart of water.  I added parsley, a bit of chili powder, Spike seasoning.  I cut up about 4 carrots.  I usually add a couple of potatoes….but alas, we were out.  I usually add a bag of frozen mixed vegetables that I buy a few of when they are on sale but again, we were out.  So today, I added a bag of frozen broccoli.  I then seasoned with a bit of freshly ground pepper.    Season to your taste buds and serve with some fresh bread.  Yummo.  Sorry the pics aren’t clearer.  Need to get a new camera.  These were taken from the ole’ blackberry.

Small tips: I bought the organic tomatoes when they were on sale and I had $1 off coupons.  I bought the chili powder and parsley in bulk at Sams.  I usually grow the parsley but my herbs didn’t do so well this year.  The deer was cheap because my nephew killed and we just pay to process.    Can’t get more organic than that…fresh, wild deer.   For some reason the organic onions were priced the same as the regular at Wal Mart so I got several bags.  We go through about a bag a week.  We do a lot of onions and garlic in our cooking.  I also purchased the $100+ pot from Ross for $20, oh yea!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 29, 2010 in Breakfast, Uncategorized

 

One response to “Wednesday December 29, 2010

  1. windi

    January 7, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    yummy – did the oatmeal squares this morning. Don’t know why but I was expecting and hoping for something more crunchy. This was more chewy – but still good. Thanks for the recipe – and thanks for all the time you spend sharing.
    ~windi

     

Leave a comment